Materials Research News

Congratulations to Prof. Chennupati Jagadish and his collaborators for winning the 2017 IUMRS-Sômiya Award for their work on “Semiconductor Nanowires: Growth, Characterization, Processing and Optoelectronic Devices.”


This IUMRS-SOMIYA Award is named in honor of Professor Shigeyuki Sômiya. IUMRS manages this award program for encouragement of active international collaboration in materials science field. The team to be honored must have collaborated across at least two continents some time during the last decade. The collaborative work must be of the highest quality and well recognized by the international materials community. The impact on technology or society is also a major factor.

The team led by Professor Chennupati Jagadish (Australian National University, Australia) include:

  • Professor Leigh M. Smith (University of Cincinnati, USA)
  • Professor Michael B. Johnston (Oxford University, UK)
  • Professor Jin Zou (University of Queensland, Australia)
  • Professor Antonio Polimeni (University of Rome La Sapienza, Italy)

The award ceremony was held on Aug. 30, 2017 during the IUMRS-ICAM meeting in Kyoto, Japan.

8th International Conference on Advanced Materials and Nanotechology


8th International Conference on Advanced Materials and Nanotechology was held in Queenstown, New Zealand for AMN8, in February 2017, organized by MacDiarmid Institute for Advanced Materials, New Zealand. It included a range of high-impact plenary presentations, cutting-edge invited and contributed talks, interactive poster presentations and convivial social events. The intimate scale of AMN conferences and the broad interests of fellow delegates offered many opportunities for networking and interdisciplinary discussions.

A few research highlights can be found at The Spinoff.

9th International Conference on Materials for Advanced Technologies


The 9th International Conference on Materials for Advanced Technologies (ICMAT) will be held on 18-23 June, 2017, organised by the Materials Research Society (MRS) of Singapore in association with NUS, NTU and A*STAR at Suntec Singapore. It includes 30 technical symposia on specific themes like electronic materials, energy & energy storage, functional materials, optical/photonics and polymers/biomaterials. About 600 invited/keynote lectures, 9 Plenary lectures and 2 Theme lectures by distinguished scientists will be presented. 3 Nobel Laureates (Fraser Stoddart from Nothwestern, Hiroshi Amano from Nagoya and Andre Geim from Manchester) will be giving both plenary and public lectures. About 2,500 delegates are expected to participate in this conference. Graduate student awards and poster awards will be given.

The deadline for abstract submission is 27 January 2017.



The 13th International Conference on Optoelectronic and Microelectronic Materials and Devices was held from 12-14 Dec. 2016. It provided a forum for the Australian and international semiconductor communities to meet and discuss topics related to microelectronic and optoelectronic materials, processes and devices including nanoscale and quantum technologies. These topics were chosen to allow researchers from different technology readiness and development levels to meaningfully participate and interact with relevant colleagues and new collaborators.

The conference attracted excellent attendance with more than 120 participants, including strong representation from early career researchers and postgraduate students. It also hosted some of Australia’s emerging leaders in the fields of Nanomaterials, Photovoltaics, Nanophotonics and Nanoelectronics, as well as internationally renowned experts who engaged with the local research community, including Prof. Brian Kolner from University of California Davis and Prof. Xiuling Li from the University of Illinois.



The 2016 IUMRS International Conference of Young Researchers (ICYRAM) will be held in Bangalore, India from December 11th to the 15th. The conference is organized by the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore and the Materials Research society of India. Details of the conference, including key dates, may be found at:

Preregistration is already open and Abstract Submission begins on May 1.

< 1 2 3 >